Living your dreams

Are you living your dream?

I have wanted to be a writer all my life. As a child, I wrote scripts and songs for my friends to perform. As I grew older, I was encouraged by people around me to write more and cultivate my talent. Increasingly, I dreamed of becoming a writer.

The fall semester of my freshman year in college changed the direction of my dream. My English professor returned my first writing assignment with a huge “F” written across it. No one had ever given me such a horrible grade. No one. Not ever. I was in total shock.

First in grade school, then in high school, I was commended and received honor awards for my writing. It was my dream and I thought I was good at it. But now, staring down at that monster “F”, I was devastated. To make matters worse, at the end of the class the professor approached me and candidly told me that I had no talent, and suggested I forget about my dreams of becoming a writer immediately if I wanted to make enough money to eat in this lifetime.

Distraught, I attempted to squelch the dream, yet the longing in my heart for writing—a longing I had been suppressing for 15 years persisted.

Even now I worked as a webmaster right now. I believe that I’d been chosen by God to write, then I must write. I finally understand my critical teacher and my fear of failure are rocks blocking my blessings, and it’s up to me to remove the rocks, and embrace my dream.

I am now FREE.  To live your dream is to be FREE.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Pamela  On September 4, 2008 at 6:38 am

    The timing was perfect because I have been so afraid to write and now I have renewed courage.

    Thank you so very much. I look forward to meeting you!!!

  • Nicki  On September 4, 2008 at 6:38 am

    I agree. one must always live their dream, or dreams. they shouldn’t silence the voice in their head or the need in their heart.

  • Veronica  On September 4, 2008 at 6:39 am

    Very interesting and mind opening, no I am not living my dream as a matter of fact life has blocked me from dreaming. Now I will attempt dreaming again after reading this page, because life is too short not to dream. Mean bosses and rich people will always exist, but I will no longer allow them to deprive me of me dreams.

Leave a Reply

