Mind of an athlete

What really goes on in the mind of a real athlete (or maybe its just me):

Dont get me wrong

I’m not doing this for you
I’m not doing this for anybody
I’m doing this for myself

I represent no organization, I represent nobody
I represent no race, I represent no country
I represent only myself, the heck with everybody
coz right now, its just me

Forget about what I said earlier
Forget about the promise I made
Forget about the problems I have
Forget about everything else
Right now, its just me and my opponent

I dont give a damn about the critics
I dont give a damn about the spectators
I dont give a damn about the fans
I dont give a damn about the sponsors
I dont give a damn about the prize
I dont give a damn if you bet your house, your family, or your life
hell i dont even give a damn if you let me sleep with your girl or your wife!

I dont give a damn about the bet that you made on this whole thing,
coz in this match I dont give a damn about you; the only thing I give a damn is winning.

This is my match, my event, my life, my time to shine
Dont you still get it? It is not yours, it is mine!
This is about me, and not about you
This is for myself, it is not for you!

I may not be the best in the world
But I want to be the best
I want to prove that I’m better than the person competing against me,
heck I want to be better than the rest.

So the next time you hear me say anything like I’m doing this for somebody or for something, once this match starts, everything else goes out the window and wouldn’t mean a thing.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

